Our museum (Maison de la Métallurgie et de l'Industrie de Liège) introduces to the steel and industrial heritage in a real old factory dating back to 1845. Discover the industrial past of Liège and travel through time... in the heart of a place that has witnessed intense industrial activity for years.
Back to the roots
Our museum is located in an old factory where tinned steel was made.
The factory was founded in 1848 by brothers Dothée. In 1862 it was taken over by "La Société des Hauts-Fourneaux et Charbonnages de l'Espérance”. In 1877, it became the "SA Métallurgique d'Espérance-Longdoz."
The Dothée company was taken over by the "Société des Charbonnages et Hauts-Fourneaux de l'Espérance" in 1862. It became the "Société Anonyme Métallurgique d'Espérance-Longdoz" in 1877.
After a peak in production (142,000 tonnes of plates in 1948), the factory was abandoned for lack of space and replaced by other factories.
1957 saw the closure of the hot rolling mill. Cockerill's merger with Espérance-Longdoz (1970) meant the beginning of the end: all activities ceased in 1980.
Espérance-Longdoz opens a museum with René Evrard's collections for "La Compagnie des conduites d’eau" and Léon Willem's collections for "Espérance-Longdoz". The museum is headed by Cockerill (1970).
Our museum becomes a non-profit association (« Musée du fer et du charbon », iron and charcoal museum) and is headed by the « Musée de la Vie wallonne ».
With Liege's financial difficulties, the University of Liege, the Museum of Walloon Life and the City of Liege itself decided to create a non-profit association. Its name? "Maison de la Métallurgie". Its purpose? Promoting scientific, technical and industrial culture in general, as well as their heritage. It was supported by Cockerill Sambre and Vieille-Montagne.
The association has a new name : "Maison de la Métallurgie et de l’Industrie de Liège".
The association has a new recognition from the French Community (Cat. B).